cazzfoto

By cazzfoto

Walmgate Bar from inside the Walls

The only gate in the city walls that retains its barbican (the only surviving one on a town gate in England), portcullis, and inner wooden doors. The stone archway dates back to the 12th century, the walled barbican is 14th century, and the original oak wooden gates are 15th century. The building seen here to the inside of the bar is 16th century. Until the 1950s it was a residential building but is now a quaint cafe.

I went into town to buy some new wellies. Mine have sprung a leak, and they are essential at the moment to paddle through the lake that was once my back garden to the compost bin! Once I'd parked, I decided to walk around the walls before going to the shops. In the end, I forgot all about the wellies and came home without even having looked for any! I'll have to continue going down the garden in Mr Cazzfoto's rather large wellies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.