Living in Brabant

By AilsaR

Something borrowed......

Earlier this week my bike gave up on me, it hadn't been serviced for a while, the winter had taken its toll, and my old tried and trusted bike shop had unfortunately gone bankrupt.

A tip from a friend pointed me in the direction of a wonderful family-run bike shop not far away from me. If only I'd known earlier!

The service was great, they had a bike I could borrow whilst my old one was being serviced, and here it is, a wonderful Gazelle which I've been cycling on for a few days. Hence, the borrowed theme.

I had the day off today, felt I needed to regroup and recharge, and slept until 10.30. I must have needed it.

A productive afternoon, I found two second-hand chairs (bargains!) and a new rug, individually put them on the back of the bike and came home with them. Also went to get my hair cut, and did various other domestic things.

In town, I noticed a little chapel was open; in all the time I've lived here it's never been open when I've been around. Today really was my lucky day!

It's called Kapel Onze Lieve Vrouw ter Nood (our lady of the north), and was built in 1964. It doubles up as a war memorial, and there are various plaques inside to remind us of this.

Here's a photo. It's lovely, really serene. The warm, summer air gently wafted in, and I sat there for a while, just enjoying the beauty of the windows, the peace of the memorial in the middle of the bustle of a busy town centre.

Enjoy your Friday evening, the longest day, and the beginning of summer, lovely blippers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.