Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Merrily meeting

Sir Thomas More, in his last letter to his daughter Margaret, said his prayer was that they would "merrily meet in Heaven", but the photo, slightly crazy but certainly merry, for today's blip is of one of two merry meetings that turned up out of the blue today. 

I found today one of the hardest to date to get up - hardly surprising, given the lateness of bedtime last night - and was still clearing up breakfast when it was time for coffee. Then we had to scamper to get the ferry over to the other side for me to have my hair cut but first to visit our favourite café, Tonino's in Greenock, for something to eat. (Lentil soup and freshly made focaccia, since you ask). We were just finishing when I noticed a couple who'd just come in and looked familiar; the wife was a colleague of ours who taught our younger son and the last time I'd seen the pair of them was on a wet CND march through Glasgow, though June and I had history on All Under One Banner marches too ...Let's just say I was late for my appointment, only next door to the café ...

Heading home under a wide blue sky, we decided a quick walk before we took our jackets off would be a good thing (even though I was feeling itchy with the tiny hairs down the back of my neck) and headed back to our favourite sunset walk at the Ardyne. That's where we met this pair: another long-standing colleague from Dunoon Grammar, a friend who arrived in the school at the same time as my return to full-time teaching after babies, who used to sing with our choir and who was one of the people influential in persuading Himself that a women's choir was a viable thing. We rarely see each other these days, but this was the second time in under a week. As the photo shows, we have a good laugh with her and her man - although I actually took the photo because all three of them look as if they're under stage lighting in the glow from the sunset sky. The evening was perfect, with Jupiter the first light to emerge above us.

I'm late again, despite my good intentions - I was so tired after all this conversation and jollity throughout the day that I fell asleep and forgot to come up to bed... 

Night night!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.