Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

A calm morning - and a less calm afternoon!

We set off for Edinburgh around 10 this morning. I thought I heard the gritter go by earlier, but there was no sign of frost on the car when I looked out. A good trip over, though the low sun was right ahead of us for a lot of the way, and the sunlight flashing through the trees was enough to set off a fit!

It was an amazing morning, light-wise, and I wish I could have stopped more often to take pictures, but we had to keep going. I regret not turning off to Stronmilchan, as the church was lit up in the sun with the background completely misty. Probably never see that again! We called in at the car park on misty Loch Lubnaig to use the facilities, and I took quite a few pictures with the mist/sun combination, especially of these two kids feeding the ducks which is my Blip today.

After unloading the car at Daughter Two's flat I took the bus into Princes Street as I wanted to climb up to Calton Hill to catch the monuments in the sun. The place was mobbed - thousands of people up there, but if not, many, many hundreds - more than I've ever seen there in the summer. I took a lot of pictures, including one of the 'Acropolis', my first extra, but will do a lot of deleting and editing when I get home.

Coming down from the hill I walked into Princes Street Gardens, where the Christmas Market and Fair was still going strong. I decided to take a turn on the 80m high Star Flyer - I went on it a few years ago. The Scott Monument is only 61m! I must be mad! My second extra. Just to round off the afternoon I had a spin on the Big Wheel too! Quite an anti-climax going out into the street to wait for the bus!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.