2ColourNot3

By 2ColourNot3

Why I like imperfect optics

There was a power cut at home so we had to resort to candlelight. So I thought it would be a nice opportunity for candlelit photography.

What I was not expecting was to see the aperture blades in the picture. Despite investing in a rather nice camera body, almost all of my lenses are M42 mount. This particular lens is a Pentacon Electric 1.8/50 that was attached to a Praktica MTL3 I found up in the attic nearly 10 years ago.

The really nice thing about these lenses is their simplicity. Before getting the RP I was mainly using the Praktica so had to do everything manually. Not for everyone but I took great pleasure in that. But that simplicity makes life very easy if things do go wrong. The aperture blades had oil on them a while back so would get stuck wide open. Eventually I took the lens apart in the lab, cleaned the blades and regreased the helicoid. It's now as good as new. Try doing that with an RF lens!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.