nogbad's blips

By nogbad

Alexa

I finally relented and bought a smart speaker just before Christmas, Jemma convinced me that it would be useful and so it has proven to be. 
For those unfamiliar with how it works, here's an idea. As I wander through the day, I might think of something that needs to go on the shopping list. I say "Alexa add... to shopping". When I get to the supermarket, I call up the shopping list on my phone and work through it. Then I get to items which make no sense - these are the things that have been misunderstood because the technology doesn't always catch my lilting Mancunian tones. Thus, I get home and wonder about what I didn't buy until I realise what it should have been and I add the item to a new shopping list, what fun! 

Today I made a quick trip to Morrisons to fill the gaps, but really to get de-icer. I'm out first thing tomorrow and we've got a yellow warning for ice from 04:00 - 10:00, something that the smart speaker warned me about when the met office released the warning. 

I hope that you all spotted that my local team, Maidstone United, made it to the fourth round of the FA cup - the lowest ranking team in the last round and certainly in the next round. The draw is on Monday evening and I hope that they get a big team away from home, they will get more money from the game - the Gallagher will only take 4,200 spectators. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.