GracieG

By GracieG

Tufty

When I took this photo of Tufty in the dull light this morning, it looked like his head and chest were covered in black feathers.

However, when I processed the photo I realised that they are actually purple and green which contrast beautifully with his golden eye (not to be confused with a 'Golden Eye' which is a different duck altogether).

B and I walked (between the flooded areas) at Pensthorpe this morning.  The lakes/River Wensum have certainly spread themselves over some of the surrounding land, including some of the paths.  However, it's still a great place to walk and there is always something to photograph, including this gorgeous tufted duck.

Have I imagined it, or do their beaks become a deeper shade of blue in the mating season?  This duck's beak seemed a little paler than I've seen before, but it could have been the dull light.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.