IainatCreel

By IainatCreel

Rackwick

Pic shows CMC’s Granny’s house where she spent a lot of her happy childhood.  You’ll note that she was checking my ‘To Do’ list. 
I called my ex-colleague Sandy in Aberdeen for an update.  He has lived in the same hoose (Middlefield Terrace) all of his life,  sadly he has been exceedingly ill.  Mild heart attack whilst abroad, then cancerous kidney removed.  He reports he has lost a lot of condition but is looking forward to bouncing back this year.    My other pal Sandy (Kintore and my fitba’ team skipper) phoned for a New Year update.  Sadly he too has been off the beat but hopefully we’ll see him up in Orkney this year.  If you need a sense check then read this.  Sandy’s wife was an absolute gem.  So welcoming, with a superb sense of humour (I still have the two willie warmers she knit me).  However when Covid came on the go she succumbed and ended up in Aberdeen Infirmary.  Not only did Sandy have to come to terms with Elma’s death from Covid, but  - in the very same week - his daughter (early forties) died of Covid in the very same Ward. 
 
The cooker in the flat wasn’t working this morning.  So, we invited our guests to come through to our end and frazzle their sausages.  Did  I repair the cooker?  Never a bit I just had to go and take advantage of the sunshine.  Whilst out we met Ian – driving round the County to see what is happening.  Had a good update from his Parish.  Then walking home I planned the cooker examination.  All fuses, and wiring, was totally integral.  Just as I pushed the cooker back in place I thought ‘I bet it’s the rocker switch’.  And so it proved to be. 
 
The icing on today’s cake was my mother talking about Veronica Lake.  And nearly in the same breath, wondering what became of her Barbara Mullen cookbook.  Perhaps we’ll never know.
 
There appears to be no record of Gordon Comstock’s age.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.