Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

La Galette des Rois

The French have been serving up galette des rois (Kings' Day) since the 14th century. Traditionally, it's served on January 6th, the 12th day pf Christmas, to celebrate the Epiphany, a religious feast day to celebrate the Epiphany, commemorating the arrival of the Thre Kings to the manger where Jesus was born.

The galette contains a little figurine which someone discovers in his/her slice of galette. They are then allowed to wear the crown which comes with each cake.


I took the train to my daughter's home where we had a delicious mixed salad and then a slice of galette with our coffee. My daughter got to wear the crown!


The type of galette we had is called Gâteau Pithiviers which is made with flaky pastry with a ground almond mixture, called frangipane. 


After lunch we watched our favourite Christmas time film: "Scrooge" with Albert Finney!


Who is starting a diet with me tomorrow?!  I'm about to eliminate all sugar from my diet and reduce carbs very considerably!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.