A day in the life

By Shelling

First bus

My friend Bengt, who I sometimes perform together with, and his wife had invited me for dinner at their home, there was going to be wine involved so I took the bus for the first time since moving here. You can't always trust there is a fitting bus on a Sunday but I was lucky. 

On my island there are no buses at all on the east side, because that side is less populated and too few people used the bus in the end. Many were hoping on a solution where at least the schoolkids who live on the east side could get a bus in the morning and afternoon but that didn't happen, with following protests as a result. Many parents have chosen to move to the east side because they like the nature and they want a safe place for their children to grow up, now they suddenly find themselves responsible for getting their children over to the west coast of the island where the kids can find buses to their schools. One would think these matters would be easy to solve in a society like ours but money speaks louder than kids. So far.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.