FotoAlex

By FotoAlex

Mavin's Marvelous Mechanical Museum

Backblip 8/11.

After dinner, Jill took me to a really nifty museum and arcade. It's got all sorts of knickknacks and gadgets from generations ago. Pictured is a life-size model of Robert Wadlow, the tallest man to ever live. He was 8 feet 11.1 inches tall (2.72 meters).

I first learned of him when I was around 8 years old after my dad bought me a Guinness Book of World Records. This display featured a short video about his life. It was neat to see. Sadly, this museum is closing because the building it's in is becoming a Kroger grocery store. It's unknown if the museum will move to a new place.

More photos of this place in extras.

Back at the house, Jill's mom was being a terror, as usual. This time was a little different because she's started being awful to me. The night before, she asked if I wanted egg salad (made by her, which Jill and I had eaten a lot of the evening before) or green salad from the store. I said green. She rolled her eyes and gave me a nasty look. She's still nasty to her husband and constantly yelling, glaring and stomping her feet.

I decided this is my last trip there while she's alive. I do not want to put my body through the stress of walking on eggshells to not break the numerous unwritten, arbitrary rules to not make her angrier.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.