FotoAlex

By FotoAlex

Mom's things

This is inside the storage unit my uncle was keeping all of Mom's things in. This photo shows Hopi and Navajo kachinas my parents collected over years living on the Navajo Nation. Kachinas are Hopi, but some Navajo artists appropriated them.

The storage unit was full of so many memories. My uncle, brother and I claimed things (You can see my brother's initial "T" on the wooden cabinet), which my uncle will later ship to us. Jill went through smaller things that we could bring on the plane.

My uncle and I picked through the kachinas. I claimed a couple of Navajo rugs in the background. I also claimed a lot of things that reminded me of home and my youth. I found my dad's patch jacket, which was really cool.

It was cathartic going through all of these things. Very strange too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.