Theleens

By Theleens

The Day Before the Longest Day

When I was a kid I used to love birthdays in Edinburgh because I was allowed to play outside until it got dark. Scotland, Summer, Light. Well, we're talking playing until 10-10.30pm.

This was my thought when I woke up this morning, and how I now found myself waking up on my birthday in Connecticut, the first one ever in Stamford. Last year I was in a hotel in Seattle (the same trip on which I'd written Seattle Mornin'). And now, Stamford. Geography can be an interesting benchmark for one's life.

I spent time Facetiming or on the phone with loved ones. Then I had to practice for the show taking place later than night and needed to at least rehearse one of the sets before going to the recording studio for 1pm. We finished Keep on Walking and did a great few takes of Soul Lover. Richard called Steve and said The Wallflowers were doing their sound check at Columbus Park, which is just round the corner from the studio. The Wallflowers are the opening band for the fivealive festival that takes place each year.

It was nice taking a break to come up for air. Columbus Park had a scattering of people listening to the sound check. Five hours later it would be jam packed. I couldn't help but daydream and imagine that this was what a day would feel like if music was what I did everyday. Nice feeling.

Steve and I also went through my set list and discussed what would work best. I left the studio, headed home, practiced some more, then Richard picked me up to go to Seaside Tavern.

The show went well. It's a nice set up: each of us does a 30-minute set thus allowing the other a rest, and take advantage of spending time chatting to the audience. They were a great bunch.

We left Seaside just before midnight and headed to Casey's for a well deserved beer.

What a great feeling putting my head on the pillow. And so, another year. Hopefully another year wiser.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.