Sprout lover

By robharris35

Bacterial

I went to the clinic up the road in Paje as my eye is more painful and harder to open. I’ve got a bacterial infection of the eye. Merry Christmas!

It’s the first time I’ve had to do the dance of triangulating between insurance company and clinic to navigate payment arrangements before being permitted to leave the premises. All not very easy when vision is much reduced, but overall fairly cooperative. Perhaps the insurance adjusters were full of Christmas cheer.

After the clinic, buoyed by the possession of powerful eyedrops, I sat in the shade under a tree for a while drinking cappuccinos. These helped summon the energy and confidence needed to get back to my lodgings without much vision. I stumbled back to Jambiani past the ubiquitous seaweed drying racks. Seaweed harvesting is a traditional livelihoods activity in Zanzibar.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.