WhiskyFoxtrot

By WhiskyFoxtrot

On Sunday we went to see the Gormley exhibition (see extra) at the White Cube and I really liked it. If you’re in London before 28 January, I would recommend it (plus, it’s free - always helpful in January).

On the way back we passed this sign (blip) of a bar restaurant called 17/51, a reference to the Gin Act of 1751, created to curb the consumption of gin amongst rogues, strumpets and vagabonds. 

It took me back to the end of my third year of university. After the papers were written and the exams taken, I went ‘round to a friend’s house to unwind and he made me a G&T. I noticed on the bottle of Gordon’s a mention of the Gin Act of 1751. For a few days afterwards I thought about doing my fourth year dissertation on the gin craze and in some ways, I still wish I had. Fond memories!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.