captureasecond

By captureasecond

28 years ago today...

On 9th January 1996 ,in the RAF Careers Office in Hanover Street, Edinburgh, I swore my 'Oath of Allegiance' and joined the Royal Air Force. For the next 16 years and 144 days I had an amazing experience. I carried Princess Diana's coffin; I met other Royalty; I circumnavigated the globe in 5 days; I appeared in FHM magazine (long story about a short article...); I went to the edge of space (with the Royal Norwegian Air Force) and I flew in 17 different types of aircraft (with 5 different countries Air Forces). At an early point along the journey they even decided to give me the Queen's Commission (which took them 2 attempts). More importantly, I also met some amazing people along the way, including my wife. It was, mostly, bloody good fun (except when people were trying to kill me in sunny places)! Now, 28 years later, I am just Mr Campbell, teaching the new generation of RAF Officers, and it is still (mostly) bloody good fun!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.