Sprout lover

By robharris35

Beach bar blur

I went with Robin and Kate to a beachside spot for food and pool time, before returning to Dar es Salaam on an afternoon ferry.

There is a proportion of men in every society in the world who are chauvinist pigs. The taxi driver who took me to the ferry terminal established that I was British and living in Tanzania. ‘Do you get a girlfriend with a big bum bum good for jiggy jiggy?’ No pal, not exactly.

The ferry terminal was so hot and chaotic that in one swift stressful motion it threatened to erase the last two weeks of bottled chill. The journey was hot and the swell seemed to be more lurching than normal. Usually the ferry journeys can roll on for as long as they like, but today I was happy to disembark.

I’m starting to feel nauseous and disorientated from moving around without any contact lenses or glasses. It wasn’t good in a hectic ferry port. So immediately upon entering my place in Dar es Salaam I rummaged in a drawer and retrieved my glasses. I’ve never been so happy to see a pair of specs, and I shall never travel without them again.

Lows of 28 degrees tonight in Dar es Salaam. Happy Sweaty New Year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.