Edisteve

By edisteve

Importance of reading

I picked this book up at the Charity shop (I did buy it,  I hasten to add), as I thought it looked really interesting.

There is certainly an eclectic mix of reading matter here, but what stands out is that each of these books has in their own way shaped the course of history. 

The ones I have read are:

To Kill a Mockingbird - Harper Lee
1984 - George Orwell
The Diary of a Young Girl - Anne Frank
Gullivers Travels - Johnathan Swift
Frankenstein - Mary Shelley
The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn - Mark Twain
Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland - Lewis Carroll
The Time Machine - H.G. Wells
The Picture of Dorian Gray - Oscar Wilde
Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone - J.K. Rowling

So many more to read … but I am ashamed to say that I tried Tolstoy’s ‘War and Peace’ and chucked it in quite quickly.

Yes, I like reading, but I need to prioritise it, and spend less time watching TV and on the ipad and mobile phone.

I hope you are having a good day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.