StephenF

By StephenF

A false start

We were back bowling today. As it was the first session of the new year, I was spared the drive to Tonbridge Wells and just popped over to Guildford. My first ball of 2024 was a strike (cue wild celebrations) but it was downhill after that and I was soundly beaten in 3 games by Steve K, who now takes the trophy I have held for 3+ years. I did average 118 on the day and beat Gail in two of the games but that was small consolation. Afterwards I went into Guildford to get a card reader from London Camera Exchange to enable me to download photos from my new (2nd hand) camera that I bought there last week. It's a Nikon DS5500 and I will be posting some of the photos I have already taken with it. I walked back to the High Street through what is now branded the Tunsgate Quarter (extra photo) It seems that naming somewhere as a 'Quarter' is considered a way to make it seem upmarket or chic. Tunsgate is a fairly tired and quite small collection of shops off the High Street. Some of the retail units are vacant, as is the case in the High Street itself. Hardly a 'Quarter' to rival the Latin Quarter in Paris. It's the same with a major housing development that has taken place on land previously occupied by Botley's Hospital in Chertsey, which used to accommodate people with learning disabilities in the days when they were institutionalised rather than enabled to live in the community. The development is branded as the St Peter’s Quarter. The developers appear to consider naming it after the adjoining St Peter’s Hospital will be more appealing to prospective buyers than calling it the Botley's Quarter. Pathetic! Personally I would put indiscriminate use of the marketing term, Quarter, in Room 101.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.