Marsupium Photography

By magi

sinking wall

Another bright but cold morning. Got out of the tram a little earlier to take some photos. I like the Invalidenpark with the Sinking Wall memorial. I must admit I am also quite fascinated by the chimney of the Scharnhorststrasse Heating Plant. Having said that, the days of the chimney are counted. It was designed for the exhaust from a furnace fired my heavy oil. They are now using gas which is more flexible. Two smaller chimneys have been built and are belching smoke as can be seen on the blip. The tall chimney (the second tallest building in Berlin at 150m, built 1979)  is to be taken down this year. I wonder if it is going to be a spectacle like when Cockenzie Powerstation lost its chimneys. Anyway, I guess I will need to have a walk around there before it is gone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.