If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Male Nuthatch ( Sitta europaea )

A day of waiting.  A man was coming to fit a new electric meter somewhere between 12 & 4.  Our current one had come to the end of its allowed life.  Being made in 1972 then fitted to a new house in 1977.  Personally I wouldn't have had a smart meter fitted, I have only known one person who hasn't had problems with them.  I mentioned this to the man fitting it and he explained.  First generation meters used mobile phone sim cards, then along came second generation with a choice by area of sim card or long wave.  Cumbria is on long wave virtually all the rest of the country is on sim card.  There was a possibility our LW wouldn't have enough reception to work.  Guess what...........

It doesn't!  So we are no better off still having to read the meter and have the occasional meter reader.

I did take time to nip up to Birds' Bistro for more food for the birds.  Other than that I was looking for a blip round home.  I ended up with a choice between Long-tailed Tits and Nuthatch.  Having blipped LTT recently I chose the Nuthatch.

Oh for my own records going to the Lodge in the dark, to take the curtains down for cleaning Clickychick spotted a Barn Owl the first we have seen for years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.