Arachne

By Arachne

Brick wall

When I bought my house the local solicitors I used were hopeless: they did nothing on time and they couldn't communicate. I was relieved when the head of the conveyancing department took over from his underling but there was no improvement. Finally, three years and almost eight months ago, contracts were exchanged and I became the owner. I paid the solicitor's fees and asked for the title deeds. They told me there was no such thing any more. Correct, but there is a Register of Title at the Land Registry, which I applied for myself.

I have just had a letter from the solicitor informing me that my purchase is successfully completed and enclosing a copy of the Register of Title. Dated 3 January 2024. So they did eventually apply for it.

The last paragraph of the letter starts: 'Should you, your family or your friends ever require the services of a solicitor we shall be glad to assist'.

Should anyone I know in Oxford ever require the services of a solicitor I shall be glad to pass on the name of the firm.

(This picture, by the way, is the 1930s Oxford Odeon which is due to be demolished later this year. You will be seeing it again.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.