cindy_ellis

By cindy_ellis

12:45 AM

I was up watching the tide raise until after 1:00 this morning. That is when I took this shot. I was passing the time reading blips until hubby called me on my cell to ask what I was doing :). The tide was actually 6" shy of the forecast which was good since the water was on our first step. 
This is our pond garden. The tide covered it and the pond. We will have to pump it out and replace the water. Not sure yet if any fish survived. Living on this peninsula is a constant test. 
We lost shingles and the roof leaked. It was to windy to tackle that job today but they have to be replaced tomorrow before it rains again. Our floating dock raised high enough to hang up on the shorter pile and was left hanging. Hubby and I got it off during the noon tide. The beach was covered with trash and debris and pier boards from VA I guess. The neighbor lost their whole pier but their boards washed up on the beach. Below us a huge beam washed up over 30' long. We were so thankful it did not land on us as we would not have been able to move it by ourselves. We got the whole beach back in order today. Maybe the water will recede enough to work in the back tomorrow. The tide filled my cold frame and shorted out the light that keeps it warm. Hubby rigged up something so it will have heat tonight but that will also need some more work when it dries up. The sheds had about 5" of water in them. We had everything picked up and I propped the doors open hoping they will dry out before the weekend when another storm is in the forecast but with much colder air. Words to live by...
"Stop trying to calm the storm.
Calm yourself.
 The storm will pass."

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.