Seriously?

By MerrilHope

 "Children learn more from what you are than what you teach." - W.E.B. DuBois

Clear blue skies and intense sunshine all day long. Rufus and I had an extra long walk  and we both got home bright eyed and bushy tailed with what Jane Austen may have called a "healthy glow". I call it "frozen cold but content".  I don't know what the tree is but it was heavily laden with berries and a joyful sight on this glorious morning.

At one o'clock, my next couple of hours was given to watching the memorial service via Zoom of friend and colleague Cyrus who we lost last month after his valiant fight against cancer. The school's auditorium in Istanbul was filled with those who loved him, and I am grateful for the technology that enabled people all over the world, including me, to be able to attend virtually.  In addition to his many kindnesses, his quick Canadian humour, and his enviable wordsmithing, it was his passion for the power of learning and belief that life was a constant opportunity to nurture curiosity and knowledge and that an educator's role was to facilitate this in others - students and colleagues - that makes him one of the most influential educators it has been my joy to call friend. 

Phil-the-builder called late afternoon to discuss a couple of indoor and outdoor lighting jobs I want done.. He'll come back on Friday to do it. 

Early evening dinner at the Gardeners pub in the enjoyable company of my bro, niece and both nephews. Back home before 9pm for a video call with Nancy who I haven't talked to for months so that was a great catchup.  Then a late night as I watched the remaining three episodes of Pride and Prejudice on BBC 4 (1995 version of course - best casting of Elizabeth and Darcy in any adaptation imo).

So, all in all, that was quite a day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.