Living my dream

By Mima

Back by popular demand...

...from one Blipper at least. You know it has to be Kentboy...

Blips have been a bit Beanless recently. My apologies. She is well. Today we are both sheltering from the sun wherever we can. It is over 30C with a good nor'wester blowing.  

Bean heads for the long shaded grass, in between short bursts of sun-baking. I have retreated to the study with the doors and windows wide open.

From time to time clouds appear and for once I am cheering their appearance.

My plans to cook some of the recent produce have been shelved until the weather is more conducive to standing over a hot stove. Instead I have been making great progress on the paintings I started last week. 

One or two may be complete, although I won't be sure until I look at them with fresh eyes tomorrow. It's a fine art to decide when to stop: I've mucked up a few pictures over the years as a result of over-working them. 

I'm confident I'll meet my self-imposed deadline of next weekend to have at least two finished. For that is when I must send photos of the end results to my brothers for their birthdays. Once the paintings are totally dry I'll pack and mail them. 

I'm delighted to report that I have dug out of the back of the wardrobe a very thin and skimpy dress which I bought 26 years ago when we lived in steamy Cooktown. It fits just as well as it did in 1997.

The extra shows the dress, me, a glass of champagne and the Australian Air Force pipe band playing "Happy Birthday to You" on the drive on my 37th. A surprising gift from my Pirate. One of many happy days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.