YellowBalloon

By YellowBalloon

Blackfriars, Newcastle

Blackfriars is now a lovely restaurant in Newcastle.  However, it has had a very interesting history.  In 1239 the Blackfriars (an order of Dominican monks) settled on this sight.  The initial friary was destroyed by fire and this this friary was build in 1250.  The Blackfriars were given this name as they wore black cloaks over their white tunics.  If you are interested, here is a link to further information about the history of the building.

I had a significant birthday last April and was given some vouchers to have a meal there so that is what Mr YB and I did today - the final celebration of my birthday (I like to make them last).  The food was great.  I had curried parsnip soup with mango chutney, North Shields sole and apple pie and ice cream.  Mr YB had smoked duck, herb crusted cod and rum baba.  We both had a glass of fizz.  Delicious!!!

I have enclosed an extra of me.   Cheers!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.