Happy Moments

By ApolloFly

Telescope Room

The Zetland. Built in 1861 as a purpose built railway hotel with a glass canopy from the station platform to the rear entrance to protect passenger arriving there from the elements.
JohnRH mentioned this to me when I posted an extra of the current station platform here in Saltburn the other day and I found it fascinating.
So today on our trip out to the recycling facility I got dropped off nearby to get my blip.
It closed as an hotel in 1983, but it was one of the first (the original ‘first’ being in Derby) where railway hotels had their own private platform.

I’m wondering if there are any left still in use?

Anyway, this building is now apartments, and I should think the telescope room ones have fabulous views of the sea. I love the semi circular tower it gives such a lot of character.

Not so much of a view today. Very dreich all day, but it was good to get out even if only to the tip and then the supermarket!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.