HareBrain

By HareBrain

Arty Abstract

I've had a very arty day.  No jobs done, no exercise, just  a whole day enjoying dabbling with paints, pencils, collage, and more.  

It's Day 4 of Sketchbook Revival's New Year 5 day art challenge.  So far I've completed the first two days.  The prompt for Day 1 was to take the first sentence of a favourite book and create a collage to interpret it.  I took more than just the first sentence of a very favourite book of mine:  'The Thread' by Victoria Hislop.  Which starts:  What I would like you to do, my dear, is to imagine you are a child again.  I hope it won't be too difficult, but you need to get the style right.  I want you to embroider one picture that says 'Kalimera' in big letters - you know the sort of thing, with the sun rising and a bird or a butterfly or some such creature in the sky.  And then, a second one with 'Kalispera'.  With the moon and stars?  

The story is about Thessaloniki, Greece's second city.  In 1917, the population comprised an even mixture of Christians, Muslims and Jews.  Within three decades, only Christians remained.  It's a heartrending story but nonetheless heart-warming and one which will remain in my mind and on my bookcase for ever.

Thank you Ingeborg for hosting AT.  Sorry I'm not quite on the brief though.

 My childlike rendition in extra!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.