What I've Done

By JohnGravett

The "Cockpit"

We had a few things to do in Penrith today, so between morning and afternoon appointments, we managed a quick walk over Heugscar Hill and Askham Fell. On the slopes surrounding the Hill is an old, small stone circle, known as the Cockpit. I've tried to photograph it many times in the past, and was never happy with the results. Today we were blessed with interesting skies, and my efforts were certainly more satisfactory. 

I think the biggest problem is that the stones and the grass surrounding them are almost the same colour, so in the photo here I will confess to selecting the stones, and reducing the amount of yellow-green on them, to separate them from the grass. A 0.9 Grad was needed to differentiate between the bright sky, and relatively dark ground.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.