madowoi

By madowoi

The New Rig

I recently purchased a new ceramic pour over coffee maker to replace the plastic one I have been using for years. So far it's been pretty good, but it has required a few adjustments. Unfortunately, it doesn't sit level on my go-to mug, so I have had to switch back to an older one I haven't been using as much anymore (a gift from my mom, by the way. Thanks mom!). 

Well the previous mug was white, but the current one is red. This effects my perception of the color change that occurs in the coffee when adding cream, making it a little tricky to get the balance just right. I'm sure after some time I'll adjust. 

Another unexpected issue is that the ceramic filter not only seems to get colder sitting in the kitchen overnight than the plastic filter did*, but also absorbs heat more readily when the water is poured through it. This can lead to a disappointing lukewarm cup of coffee. Not good. Simply pour in hotter water, you say? But of course that is going to change the flavor of the coffee. You don't want the water to be too hot when it hits the grounds. So for now the solution involves warming up the ceramic before putting in the filter and pouring in the hot water. 

Finally, the water seems to move through this maker faster than the other. I may have to compensate by using a slightly finer grind or perhaps a darker roast. Still playing around with that.


* I say it seems colder, but of course I believe this is because, when I touch the ceramic, it absorbs the heat from my fingers more efficiently and thus feels colder to me than the plastic filter. I would think if I measure the temperature of them both with some sort of infrared thermometer there should be a thermal equilibrium (note, they are located next to each other on the kitchen counter, so the temperature variations within the room shouldn't play much of a role here).


By the way, this image was taken by placing a light inside the mug, placing the coffee maker on top, and taking a photo. I got the idea thanks to today's abstract theme involving taking a closer look at some everyday object.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.