Hiraeth

By Stevehughes15

Family

I was sent the photo this morning, it’s my grandparents mother and father, I’m the little bloke.

I can’t really remember my grandparents and my father left my mother shortly after this photo was taken and I never saw him again (I think it’s a bit of a over reaction to having your photo taken) and my mum stuck me in a kids home a bit later, where I grew up in happiness. I reconnected with mam in 1990, we were never close but it was always polite.

My father was Scottish and went back home, the Scottish side of the family hunted me down with the help of the Salvation Army, to be honest I wasn’t hiding.

It’s been nice finding out about my Scottish side of the family, my paternal grandparents were Irish.

The one thing my Dad and I had in common was neither of us had any intention of finding the other

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.