Munroist4113

By Munroist4113

The Forth

Mr C drove me to the station at Alnmouth for my bargain train trip to Fife. On the way we listened to a Michael Moseley programme about inflammation. He interviewed an expert who had 5 pointers for keeping healthy. The first one was not to sit for longer than an hour, no matter how old you are. A standing desk at work was recommended or if you are watching TV you should get up and walk about. (Not to the gin cupboard I imagine) - I didn’t hear to the end but eating less than 2000 calories a day or fasting one day was recommended as was the 10,000 steps rather than some days intense exercise and others with little.

The train was freezing and I just missed the Kinghorn connection so had 40 minutes to wait. Rather than sit in a cold station or go to a bar I went out of the station to the CityArt Gallery where I had a quick look at Scottish landscapes. There was one called “Valley of the Shadow” of Loch Coruisk looking towards the Cuillin. It certainly would be a horrible death to plummet down from up there - I wore out the seat of my pants as I had my legs over each side of the jagged ridge.

The blip, taken from my favourite bridge, the Forth rail bridge, is of the Forth Road Bridge, now only open I think to buses as the cables are disintegrating, and the Queensferry Crossing which now takes the cars and lorries.

I’m relaxing at Jenny’s while she has a little lie down before we cook dinner together. She isn’t sleeping and is struggling with grief - her husband of 30 years died from Alzheimer’s a couple of months ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.