Poor Patty

I was in the studio when I heard some serious quacking and then Dan yelling. He ran out in his bare feet! I ran out and he had scared a big adult racoon off of Patty. She has most likely broken her leg and has an injury on her neck.  Dan put her next to the duck house and she stayed here the rest of the day.
Dan has had ducks before and this is his call. He says birds heal fast and if she doesn't get an infection she should survive. She can get up and hop and use her wings for some balance. We aren't going to take her to the vet so she will pull through, hopefully.
We are expecting another awful wind/rain event tomorrow again. 30 mph winds with gusts to 50 or 60. It will be mostly through the day so I should be able to sleep tonight.
We'll keep the ducks in their house tomorrow and I'll give an update on how Patty is doing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.