Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Robin Hood's Bay

I made an effort today and finally put away all the Christmas stuff. I even took down the garden fairy lights too, very reluctantly I might add, so that they too could go into storage under the stairs. I've been trying to tidy cupboards as I put things back into them, and today was no exception. From the Christmas cupboard (under the stairs) came three old plate glass mirrors and two pictures. This is one of them, it's of Robin Hood's Bay and we bought it during the festival in 1984 from the Scotsman Steps exhibition. I loved that exhibition it was real paintings and affordable by real people.
I see we paid £25 for it. Out of curiosity I googled the artist. There were three artists of his name in Edinburgh, so I picked one and emailed him to ask if it was his. I struck lucky first time. He is still painting and owns an antique bookshop too. He emailed back and I sent him a picture to remind him.
What fun.
I had word today of a friend who has died. Her funeral is in two weeks time. That makes three funerals in January, one my age, one, a friend's son aged 40 and one, a former pupil, aged 26. Three too many.
I went into town this afternoon, for my Clarins Spa massage. Oh it was good, just what I needed. I don't seem to have any ill effects from yesterday's long drive. Thanks for all the lovely comments about our generations. I won't put any pics up as mum was in bed while we were there so they weren't really suitable for sharing lovely as they are.
Today I have been gradually turning green with envy as blipper Marchmont is at MY beach, sitting in MY cafes, looking at MY sunset and enjoying MY special places. I'm not jealous, I'll share, but I do wish I was there too.

https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/3192508894958061598

The cockroach was not mine I might add, I always make sure they spray the threshold of my room!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.