A Meandering Life...

By Skeena

Guilty of Distraction

I have a confession to make, my photography has been taking a bit of a back seat for a little while. I have become a book worm in all its forms.

As a child I did not read. By the time I left school I doubt if I had even read 5 books, I think I only remember 2 of them. I never took English Lit and English Language was just the horrors of spelling tests. 

In the past year or so I have read at least 100 books and listened to dozens of others. My book shelf is starting to collect books I have actually read and not just those for show or reference. 

I have two reasons for this, my Kindle/iPad and these in-ear headphones, both were given to me. The kindle came when the local TV mask in the North York Moors burnt down. The whole area lost the normal signals. All households were sent a voucher to buy online TV dongles. I had some already so I chose the Kindle.

The ear buds were given to me by the airline I flew with last year when we went to New Zealand. For one section of the flight the TV, power and even free wifi promised didn't work on my seat. They gave me an onboard credit that allowed me to buy these buds. I have only just started to use them. 

Between the online local library and other online book providers I have become hooked. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.