Bumblesnaps

By Beewatcher

Saturday at the museum

It’s been in the town centre for years, but I’ve never set foot in it. Today Mr. and Miss Beewatcher wanted to see the temporary exhibition about the town football team. Since I’m not remotely interested in sport, I took a look around and was very impressed with how well the history of the town was laid out, from  the half-timbered buildings that lined the High Street in Elizabethan times, through the wealden iron industry, Victorian times when Mark Lemon the co-founder of Punch lived in the town, and through two world wars to the creation of the New Town in the year I was born.
Starting at top left , the four large photos are a model of the Elizabethan High Street ( some of the original buildings remain ) ,the New Town’s coat of arms ( the lion symbolises the industry that was developed after the war, and the motto hidden by shadow is I grow and I rejoice ), the veteran car commemorating the fact that the annual London to Brighton run passes through the town, and a wringer that I remember from my childhood, and which Miss Beewatcher delighted me by identifying a mangle :-)
The two smaller photos on top show a quilt that was made by townspeople to celebrate the seventieth anniversary of the New Town, embroidered postcards that were sent home by servicemen in WWI, and the two lower ones show the WW1 roll of honour from the church at Lowfield Heath, a nearby village that was swallowed up by Gatwick airport, and a pocket edition of Punch with the smallest text I’ve ever seen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.