Sprout lover

By robharris35

Mapinduzi

Revolution.

A public holiday in Tanzania for Zanzibar Revolution Day, Mapinduzi ya Zanzibar. Even though the office has just been closed for three weeks, who are we to sniff at another day at home? These events are to commemorate our fallen freedom fighters.

The main thing that I revolutionised today was the dismantling of furniture in a car park in extreme humidity. The desk I bought from a woman on Facebook was too big to fit in the car I organised for pick-up, because the seats were broken and didn’t move down, and the boot was blocked by a whopping big LPG tank. Eventually we figured out the jigsaw puzzle, and I am overall happy that many cars in Tanzania operate with the more environmentally friendly systems that incorporate LPG, despite the way they make boots redundant.

Finally, there was bloodshed at my apartment. The bird that intermittently enters my bedroom through the air conditioner flew straight into the fan and decapitated itself. I have spared the blip community the bloody body section, which spattered several areas of the room. I embarked on a clean-up mission but I’ve now got dried bird blood on my bedsheets. I don’t like it when human built systems cause completely unnecessary animal deaths. This is in the same league as the sadistic behaviour of domestic cats, killing everything with a pulse. My feelings towards cats have been well documented over the years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.