PaulaJ

By PaulaJ

Nuts

When I was a child we always had at Christmas a big wooden bowl of nuts in their shells and some nutcrackers. My grandad was a great one for cracking nuts, he could even crack almonds which are impossible (I notice there are some here). I can remember sitting by his side as he cracked open nuts for me. He was able to pull out a whole walnut and I was amazed. I wonder if this is why I love walnuts so much, especially out of a shell.

Well, this year I thought I would provide a basket of nuts and some nutcrackers and see if anyone was interested in tackling them - they weren’t!

We eat a lot of nuts but I buy bags ready shelled. Now what to do with these nuts - maybe I can persuade grandad to practise shelling nuts for next Christmas.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.