David J. Rose

By djrose007

To the rescue

Before I start today's waffle - Following on from yesterday I was, unknowingly, photographed with both dogs on my lap. See EXTRA

On to today's blip.
It's a long story so here's the short version.
On Tuesday evening our daughter Johanna's car broke down. She had to wait 3 hours for the recovery vehicle but the chap was lovely, apologetic and quickly got her home.
But as a consequence of the long wait, on a bitterly cold night, her battery was flattened. 
Julia had driven out to her when she told us she'd broken down and took her a boiling hot hot-water-bottle to keep her warm, she needed it. She, Julia, brought Johanna back to our house where she spent the night. Next morning she borrowed our Hyundai i20 to get home to meet up with her mechanic.
She had called her local mobile mechanic who is very efficient, doesn't charge exorbitant garage prices, if he charges at all sometimes, and he came out to her on Thursday (Wednesday being the funeral of course so we were all tied up). He found the oil was grossly overfilled, not good for the engine at all. Drained and refilled correctly but didn't have jump leads on him, they'd been left at another job. Not to worry 'Dad'll Fix It'.
So Johanna drove to pick me up around lunch time today, drove back to her house, in Cinderford which is about 40 minutes away. I took jump leads and my very trusty STREETWIZE power pack. Bonnet up, attach the + and - leads of the pack to the relevant battery posts, switch it on, switch on the car ignition, start the car, detach the leads and that's it, job done. 
I'd recommend anyone with a motor vehicle should own one of these battery packs, it's got my MX-5 going two or three time in the past, and Betty's old Suzuki Alto. Johanna's Ford Kuga is probably the largest vehicle I've used it on but it handled it with great ease. I never travel without it, particularly if I'm going to be away for a weekend or longer.
Keep it in your vehicle, or in the garage, you never know when you will need it, so much easier than jump leads. Just keep it charged, I check and charge it up every 3 or 4 weeks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.