Life on the Good Intent

By ClydeBorn

The Blue Hour

I drove down to Machrihanish today to visit my former neighbours - we had a great catch up. They are enjoying life there despite having to bale out after the great snowfall in March. Dinner bought from the co-op in Tarbert on the way back, I drove back to the campsite with an emergency stop for a band of red deer trying to jump a fence to join the rest of the herd. They were just below the brow of a steep hill and I was so worried a car would sweep over the top and hit them, they all made it over but one who seemed too nervous to attempt the standing jump. I edged the car forward slowly, till it found a place to slip into the trees.
After dinner I set up my tripod and waited once again for the sunset, shafts of light broke through the low clouds over Jura, I took some shots of this scene but the sunset was a muted affair.
At 10.30 I brought my camera into the tent and folded up the tripod while the kettle boiled for a last cup of tea. As I sat reading, streaks of pink developed in the sky, quickly set up the tripod again and shot this. The west coast sunsets never fail to surprise me, I love this time of the year, doesn't really get dark. Behind me the moon had risen and was flooding the sea with its silver light, more memories to dream of.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.