Gifts of Grace

By grace

Brunch

Appetite returned today, along with the brain function required to cook.  

Delicious, reminded me of hangover cure breakfasts of yesteryear.  'Though not actually as greasy, courtesy of the invention of the air fryer.  Don't know when I last fried an egg ...that too was delicious.

In truth I think this is only a common cold - when did that become a respiratory virus?  Still time for it to linger in my chest so I'm not counting no chickens just yet.  Just grateful to be feeling better and for home comforts in our wild world.

Context seems to be everything. The pandemic coincided with me turning 70, makes a common cold appear as potentially life threatening ...  Mind you I heard Graham Norton say that when he turned 60 he found himself thinking 'Oh this is the thing that will kill me.' with every ache and pain.  

I think it's the last shreds of the illusion of physical immortality and invincibility that are dying.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.