mamasuzi

By mamasuzi

Art

Elsie decided she was going to do a bit of still life drawing today. She did a pretty good job, better than I did with the photo, anyway - didn't correct the white balance, didn't get the exposure quite right. I particularly like the artistic licence of the imaginary cup cake in front.

I'd never thought until tonight to explain to Elsie and Hannah about the tribal system in Tanzania, and the fact that they are members of the Sukuma tribe (as far as I can gather, you are either in or out - no half-Sukuma). Elsie, in particular, was fascinated, so we tried out a few Sukuma words - I can't speak it, apart from a few greetings, but it is Emma's first language. It's hard trying to keep them aware of their other side, when we haven't visited for so long - they were only 5 when we were last there. I really hope we can go later this year. So my little tribe have gone off to bed, secure in the knowledge that they are the ONLY Wasukuma children in Shetland tonight (we think).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.