JohnW

By JohnW

What a day

Last Thursday I blipped about a dear neighbour who had been scammed and how I was rebuilding his PC.
 
At the time the scammers had not had a chance to do anything on his PC, so I thought, but it appears they were on long enough to harvest enough data to gain access to all his online accounts and change the passwords.  This I discovered today when we went in to change all his passwords on various accounts.  The worse being the new Microsoft account that we had set up, so how they got that heavens’ know (well I do have a good idea).
 
Anyway as soon as I realised what had happened I got them to check with their bank (they don’t have internet banking) and sure enough a purchase had been made on Amazon.  All sorted now with new cards on the way and the Fraud squad taking an interest.  Mind you Amazon got minus ten out of ten in customer service.
 
Having difficulties with Microsoft I was attempting to persuade Windows to update, but even that had problems, so formatting and starting again was already on the cards.  Watch this space.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.