IainatCreel

By IainatCreel

Heading for Home

Had to go into Kirkwall today because the car needed a major piece of work doing on the suspension.  Also the dancers had previously elected that today this would be the annual meal where we praised our dance instructor, which we did. However.  We set off, but near the top of Hobbister brae, in a whiteout, about a dozen cars had become bellied in snow.  I instructed the young girl in front of me to engage her handbrake and not to reverse as I would turn round.  Fine.  Before I left she said she would turn around.  For a reason best known to herself she reversed straight into a ditch full of snow.  Four men had to push her out.  As I made my way down Hobbister Brae I slowed to let the oncoming vehicle know what was happening.  It was Sean Cursiter, weel-kent in Orkney, and he has been on TV many a time.  His summation was  ‘Beuy, fowk are neeps and they havenae a clue how to drive in sna’. He was right.  So, after a diversion, via Germiston and Finstown, we danced.  Then ate.  Then had to get the shot of a car to get home. And I’ve lost my glasses somewhere.  Rosie and Jill turned up for dancing which was a boost.  I note from my Tupperware catalogue of March 1963 that the built in cheese grater box first became available that month. 
 
Exactly what did Jackie Leven say?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.