The Way I See Things

By JDO

Locked and loaded

Conditions were a little tricky at the owl field this afternoon: there were five owls in the air (good), but they kept getting into conflict with each other and flying high, rather than hunting low across the field (bad), and for a while it felt as though I'd put myself in completely the wrong place, so that they were always on the sunny side of me and I had to shoot into the light (very bad). However, things evened themselves out across the forty minutes of action we enjoyed, and a first pass through my 576 images this evening has only managed to reduce them to 215. I've eventually managed to pick three favourites for this post, though it's quite possible that by tomorrow I'll have found some I like even more.

The main image wins for me because the light was just right, and the owl was locked onto a target with its feet lowered, ready to bring its ferocious talons into play. The first extra shows the same owl in an even more intent pose, and though the light was slightly behind the bird on this occasion I think it still works. The second extra lacks the environmental context I prefer to get when I can, but I love the way the owl's fiercely intent expression is lit by the low winter sun. Please do check them out full-screen, if you have the time.

It was good as ever to spend some time with Hillyblips, and also with Sheol, who was paying his second visit to the Cotswold owls, and if he's not careful will soon find himself numbered among the regulars. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.