One daze at a time...

By Raheny_Eye

A lonely, lonely place

When I turned up for the AA meeting, I realised that I was on my own. 
"My name is Raheny Eye" I said "and I'm an alcoholic." "Welcome Raheny Eye", I replied. 
I asked who would like to share their story and in the absence of other volunteers I told myself mine. 
Harrowing tales of drinking 6 pints of Guinness per session with the Big Nose Club (they made me do it!) while trying to fix the world. With no fixing achieved. Despite all the sessions, and all the pints. 
But to end on a positive note, I told myself how I learned to recalibrate my life since going sober four years ago, except for 2 glasses of wine here and six pints and a dram here (they made me do it!).
Then I had a cup of tea and biscuit, I left a fiver in the collection box, and I left. 
It is very exciting, the sober life. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.