JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Watching the cars go by

I'm still faffing around with all the dry seed heads, bits of grass and tangled branches I photographed in a grey and gloomy half hour walk up the lane on Sunday morning. Perhaps they will become a collage, but not tonight. As I returned to the bottom of the hill to cross the road and arrive home, I found one of our neighbours' chickens standing jauntily at the entrance to their driveway, gazing out at the road. She seemed perfectly happy, though I can't help worrying about her safety so close to passing cars and dogs. However, I know they are fairly relaxed about the chickens' apparent enjoyment of a little wander round the front from time to time; I hope this one kept her distance from the cars and returned home safely.

After lunch I managed to pick Brussels sprouts just before dark, and prepared them for steaming to accompany the roast dinner P had planned. It was excellent, and good to be eating potatoes and sprouts we have grown. He made a fire too, and I sat beside it for a while, editing photos and enjoying the pool of warmth as it burned down to the last embers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.