If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Robin ( Erithacus rubecula )

The first real snow of the year.   Well, enough to cover the grass anyway.  Those who question climate change might like some information from my menory banks.

When I first arrived in Penrith I was in digs and the guys in the digs told me "There will be snow on the fells in November and it will be there until May".  Sure enough, come May there I was out on the school fields running sports heats in my shirt sleeves with patches of snow on the Pennines.  So far in recent winters snow has only been there a few days at a time.

This weather shows how much birds value garden feeding stations.  They were very busy today, even the Robin was going on to the hanging seed feeder.  Presumably it had eaten everything on the food tray.  I caught it while perched there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.