Porkybrown

By Porkybrown

Leicester Market

Popped on the train for the 13 minute ride into Leicester. The art supply shop, Gadsby's, is still in business and I wanted to shop for art materials without looking at a screen. The shop, however, has rather an 'out on it's feet' feel to it, the displays were not as curated and attractive as I remember them being and the shelves were certainly not fully stocked. However, I was able to find what I wanted. 

The market is currently being renovated but I'd not seen this mural before. Quite striking. On our way from the station towards the clock tower it was also quite striking how run down and unwanted some of the once busy streets looked. More empty shops than occupied ones and the magnificent old Grand Hotel now closed. A far cry from the shiny vibrant shopping centre, The High Cross Centre, on the other side of town.

Extras - more 'quite striking' murals - on the bar that used to be called 'The Churchill' back in the day (then Winstons I think) - such a lot of paint and no spellcheck!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.