What I've Done

By JohnGravett

On the Coledale Horseshoe

I did a part of the Coledale Horseshoe today - managing Causey Pike, Scar Crag and Sail. The climb up Causey Pike at the top was really treacherous, with snow covering large slippery rocks and edges with snow overhanging. Crampons and Ice Axe were a must, and it took a few attempts to reach the top; the first route I tried took me up a gulley that got so steep and slippery, I was forced to make my way back down it - not fun!

This was taken on the way up Causey Pike, and I had to focus stack the landscape to get sufficient Depth of Field from the gorgeous shadows in the foreground to Skiddaw in the distance.

Got there in the end, and the walk onto Scar Crag was "interesting" through the deep crusted snow, that sometimes would take my weight, and other times I could disappear through it up to my knees.

The walk up Sail was remarkably straightforward. 

My return was simply to descend Sail, and pick up the steep path down into the valley and back to Newlands. Again Crampons were a must coming down the steep slopes.

Total now up to 159/214
https://www.justgiving.com/team/johnswainwrights

Although not a Blip milestone, this is my 4400th Blip

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.